About ESD 9

Burnet County Emergency Services District No. 9 (BCESD9) was created with area voter approval in November 2013 of a citizen petition filed with the Burnet County, Texas Commissioners Court.  

As a taxing political subdivision of the State of Texas under Ch. 775 of the Texas Health & Safety Code, BCESD9 is empowered to and tasked with the provision of fire, rescue, first responder, emergency medical services, rural fire prevention and control services and other emergency services to residents and visitors of its District in southeastern Burnet County, Texas. 

Karen Bruett

Commissioner &  President

Term Expires in December, 2019


Renee Hollingsworth

Commissioner & Secretary 

Term Expires in December, 2019


  • Texas Emergency Services Districts are managed by a Board of Emergency Services Commissioners consisting of five individuals who satisfy the requirements of Ch. 775 (including District residency or real property ownership in the District).

  • Board members are appointed by the Burnet County Commissioners Court to staggered 1 or 2 year terms of office.  

  • By internal policy adopted by the BCESD9 Commissioners, all BCESD9 Commissioners are volunteers and are paid no remuneration for their service.

Allen Mynk

Commissioner & Assit. Secretary.

Term Expires in December, 2021


Randy Steele

Commissioner & Treasurer

Term Expires in December, 2020


Bruce Mills

Commissioner & Vice-President

Term Expires in December, 2020



P.O. Box 250

Spicewood, Texas  78660




© 2019